9th NASS leadership: How Lawan, Gbaja, others emerged winners

The party successfully averted a repeat of what happened in 2015 when its adopted candidates lost to former Senate President, Bukola Saraki; former Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu and immediate past House of Representatives Speaker, Yakubu Dogara.

This time, immediate past Senate Leader, Senator Ahmad Lawan, APC, Yobe North, who was also the party’s adopted candidate in 2015 emerged victorious.

Lawan, Gbajabiamila, others can always count on my support – Dogara(Opens in a new browser tab)

Yesterday, he polled 79 votes to defeat former Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume, APC, Borno South to emerge as President of the Ninth Senate. Ndume polled 28 votes.

SDGs remain fantasy if corruption is allowed to flourish – Magu(Opens in a new browser tab)

Also, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila, the APC’s speakership candidate in 2015, won this time. He polled 283 votes to beat Mr. Mohammed Bago, who got 76 votes. For the post of the deputy speaker, Mr. Idris Wase emerged unopposed.

Similarly,  Senator Ovie Omo- Agege, APC, Delta Central, scored 68 votes to defeat the immediate past Deputy Senate President, Senator Ike Ekweremadu to emerge as the Deputy Senate President.

Ekweremadu polled 37 votes while one Senator elect abstained, one vote was invalid.

Ekweremadu’s belated entry into the DSP race caused initial ripples. Sources said the PDP’s hope of reaping from the divisions in the APC where it expected the APC to produce three contenders for the deputy senate presidency (Francis Alimikhena, Ovie Omo-Agege and Gaya went up in smoke as only Omo-Agege was nominated after the APC hierarchy got the other contenders to step down.

The victory of the APC adopted candidates was in spite of the nocturnal meetings held by Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, governors and senators where they resolved to deliver block votes to Ndume and Mr. Mohammed Bago, who ran against Gbajabiamila.

The  Clerk to the National Assembly, CNA, Mohammed Sani Omolori, began the process by calling for nomination of candidates at 10.31am.

Thereafter, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi, APC, Kebbi North nominated Ahmad   Lawan for the position of Senate President.

Senator Abdullahi was seconded by Adeola Solomon Olamilekan, APC,  Lagos West.

The CNA then asked if there were further nominations and Senator Ali   Ndume was nominated by Ishaku Abbo, PDP, Adamawa North and seconded by Barinada Npigi, PDP, Rivers South East.

After the nominations, Lawan and Ndume addressed  the Senators- elect on their plans for the Ninth Senate.

At 10.54am, the open secret balloting election  commenced.

Announcing the result, the  Clerk to the National Assembly, CNA, Mohammed Sani Omolori  who declared Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan as the winner of the keenly contested election with 79 votes against 28 votes garnered by Ali Ndume, said that 107 Senators-elect voted.

On the election of Lawan, Omolori said: “Today, June 11,      2019, 107 Senators-elect voted. I am happy to report that 107 Senators-elect cast their votes. This is the result: Senator Ahmad Lawan 79 votes; Senator Ali Ndume 28 votes.”

“With this announcement,   Senator Ahmad Lawan haven scored the highest votes is hereby elected and returns as the Senate President.”

After the declaration of the result, Senator Lawan took the oath of allegiance and office as he assumed the office of the 9th Senate President.

Sequel to this, Senator Ndume was accompanied to Senator Lawan and they exchanged pleasantries.

I’ll be fair to all — Lawan

In his acceptance speech after his inauguration and his colleagues, the newly elected Senate President, Ahmad Lawan promised that in the course of carrying out his assignment, he would be fair to everyone irrespective of party, political, and religious affiliation.

Read the story from the Original Source

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button